Tribally-Sponsored Health Insurance Program


What is Tribally-Sponsored Health Insurance?


Tribes and Tribal health organizations may now pay for health insurance for Alaska Native and American Indian people who qualify. The Alaska Tribal Health System is offering Tribally-Sponsored Health Insurance in Alaska on a limited trial basis. This sponsorship is a collaboration of 10 tribes and Tribal organizations whose Board of Directors have committed funding for the project.


Will Tribally-Sponsored Health Insurance cost me anything?


No. ANTHC pays the insurance premium cost. Alaska Native and American Indian people also do not have to pay any co-payments or deductibles when they are seen or referred by Tribal health facilities.


Why should I consider Tribally-Sponsored Health Insurance?


Health insurance can help you get medical care when you are traveling or away from Tribal health facilities. Health insurance can also help make more services available for you and all Alaska Native and American Indian people. The program also offers free tax filing and enrollment assistance.


How do I qualify?


Tribally-Sponsored Health Insurance staff will screen you and your family to see if you qualify, if you:

  • Are you an Alaska resident
  • Are eligible for Indian Health Services;
  • Are not covered by or eligible for Medicare Part A, Medicaid, Denali KidCare, TRICARE, CHAMPVA, or affordable health insurance through an employer.

Does this affect my current Alaska Native health benefits?


No. You still get all services at Indian Health Service and Tribal hospitals and health clinics throughout Alaska and the United States. We want you to keep using your hospitals and health clinics wherever and whenever possible!


Who can I contact for more info or to see if I qualify?

Arctic Slope Native Association – Samuel Simmonds Memorial Hospital

Arctic Slope Native Association Outreach at (907) 852-9365

Kenaitze Indian Tribe – Dena’ina Health Clinic

Dena’ina Wellness Center Un’ina Navigators: 

Donna Gilbert
907-335-7562  
DGilbert@Kenaitze.org

Joanne Shepard
907-335-7504
JShepard@Kenaitze.org

Ketchikan Indian Community (KIC)

Patient Benefits Coordinator:
Darryl Simons
907-228-9280
dsimons@kictribe.org

Kodiak Area Native Association

Alternate Resource Specialist:
KANA Main Clinic – Patient Benefit Coordinator
Paula Matchian
907-486-9861
Paula.Matchian@kodiakhealthcare.org


Patient Benefit Coordinator for Mill Bay Health Center 
Jade Lutes
(907) 486-7348
Jade.Lutes@kodiakhealthcare.org

Metlakatla Indian Community

Annette Island Service Unit Registration
907-886-4741

John Fawcett
(907) 886-4741, ext. 2010
jgfawcett@aisu.org

Sabrina Ridley
(907) 886-4741, ext. 2032
sridley@aisu.org

Norton Sound Health Corporation

Patient Benefits Team Leader
Darla Jemewouk
907-890-2001
djemewouk@nshcorp.org

Southcentral Foundation

Family Health Resources
(907) 729-7225
TSHIP@Southcentralfoundation.com

SouthEast Alaska Regional Health Consortium (SEARHC)

Toll-free at 1-855-966-8684
outreach@searhc.org

Tanana Chiefs Conference

Alternate Health Resources Department:
Rhonda Lohrke
(907) 451-6682, extension 3707

Alaska Native Tribal Health Consortium

(907) 729-5696
anthctship@anthc.org

To speak with a Health Benefits Specialist, please contact:
hbs@anthc.org
(907)729-5696