Skip to main content

Alaska Native Health Campus nurses honored with March of Dimes Nurse of the Year awards

November 20, 2018

Each year, the March of Dimes Alaska Chapter honors Alaska’s exemplary registered nurses whose leadership and contributions make a significant impact in their community and in the profession of nursing by giving Nurse of the Year Awards. Sixteen caregivers were honored for their extraordinary level of patient care, compassion, integrity, professionalism and leadership in the nursing profession at the March of Dimes Nurse of the Year Awards. Approximately 300 guests attended the dinner Saturday, Nov. 3, at the Hilton Anchorage. ANTHC leadership is proud to announce that the following ANTHC nurses were honored with Nurse of the Year awards in their respective categories: Shelia Draper-Johnston, Case Management; Casey Griffith, Critical Care; Elizabeth Hesse, Hospice, Home Health & Palliative Care; and Connie Mazut, Pediatric Care. The following Southcentral Foundation nurses were honored with Nurse of the Year awards in their respective categories: Colleen McNulty, Behavioral Health; Letitia “Tisha” Benson, Public Health & Ambulatory Care; and Heather Anderson, Women’s Health Award. Matt Hirschfield, March of Dimes Alaska Nurse of the Year Chair said, “The Nurse of the Year event is an opportunity for March of Dimes, and the community, to publicly say thank you to the wonderful caregivers who make such a difference in our lives. We are proud to honor these exceptional nurses.” Congratulations to our Alaska Native Health Campus winners for their inspiring and impactful efforts, and congratulations to all March of Dimes nominees and awardees and thank you to all nurses working on the Alaska Native Health Campus for providing the best care and services to our people every day. For more information about nursing practice at ANMC, visit For photos of the event, visit

Share this story

Sign Up For Our Newsletter