Skip to main content

ANMC Transitions of Care team wins National Indian Health Board Area Impact Award

September 9, 2016

The ANMC Transitions of Care (TOC) team recently won the National Indian Health Board (NIHB) 2016 Area Impact Award for their exceptional service in American Indian and Alaska Native health. The team consists of pharmacists Lara Nichols, Michelle Locke, Honeylit Cueco and Matthew Walker; and pharmacy technicians Stephanie Cook and Brian Guting.

The TOC team was chosen to receive the award for their phenomenal contributions in advancing Tribal health and for their service to Indian country, which has been noted by Tribal leaders and advocates across the country.

The Transitions of Care Pharmacy Program was developed to improve the transitions of care process regarding medications at ANMC. The program began simply as a bedside discharge medication program with one pharmacist, but has evolved into a more comprehensive program that focuses on multiple aspects of the transitions of care continuum.

Since the TOC program began, more than 10,000 patients have received bedside counseling and more than 33,000 prescriptions have been dispensed from the TOC team. More than 3,000 medication interventions have been made by both the pharmacists and pharmacy technicians who make up the team.

“Health care is rapidly changing so finding creative ways to improve patient care and the patient experience is challenging yet mandatory in order to move forward in pharmaceutical care,” said Lara Nichols, ANMC Discharge Pharmacist. “Developing a Transitions of Care Team has improved our customer service to our most vulnerable patients when they are sick in the hospital.”

This innovative practice model supports the effective use of pharmacists and pharmacy technicians as direct patient care providers. This program adds a new dimension to pharmaceutical care, improving processes and services that we can provide to make a positive impact on our patients.

Congratulations to our Transitions of Care Pharmacy team on being selected to receive this prestigious national award.

Share this story

Sign Up For Our Newsletter